Sadness

This morning I got the news that my aunt died. (In American culture, she would be known as my dad’s cousin, therefore, my cousin.) She had been battling cancer for some time, and I wrote about her a little bit in a previous post.

The hubby and I took a road trip down to visit her just yesterday. I had promised her that the two of us would come and see her before the hubby’s busy season started. And I had to keep my promise. When we arrived at the house, her husband came out to greet us and said that we could visit for just a little bit since she had just been given some medication and was really out of it. And the hospice nurse had said in so many words that it was her time to go, and that visitors will keep her coming back, so to speak. Most of her family had been at the house earlier that week and left for a hotel to provide some peace and quiet.

We went in to see her and the change from her condition two months ago was apparent. I didn’t have much to say and didn’t know what to say, so I just held her hand for a while. After visiting with her husband and his sister, we left.

This morning my sister called to see if I got to see auntie, and I told that we did see her and how she wasn’t in good shape. I guess something about the way I spoke clued my sister in. She told me that she died around 9:30 last night.

I don’t know…. Death always freaks me out…. This is the second time that the hubby and I have gone to see someone who we knew was not doing well. Both times, the person has died that night. Is it possible that my auntie was waiting for us? On top of that, my sister said that my niece woke up around 9:15 last night and said out of nowhere that she did not want auntie to die.

Rest in Peace, Auntie.

Posted in etc.. Tags: , . 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Sadness”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Sorry to hear about your auntie.

  2. nat @book, line, and sinker Says:

    i’m so sorry to hear about your auntie. đŸ˜¦ i know about the stress that illness can have on a family and i’m sending hugs your way.


Leave a comment