Soft Talker with a Megaphone

Hi, blog. It’s been a while. Here’s something funny/not funny I want to tell you about today.

Generally speaking, I’m not a yeller but I’m not a soft-talker either. I’m somewhere in between and I will fluctuate depending on the situation. Most days, I’m on the quieter end of the spectrum. Today in class, I was pushed to the louder end because no one was listening and I was over it.

The following happened:

“Listen, I’m not going to yell about this. This isn’t me yelling. This is me raising my voice so that you can hear me and understand how important this is because the other times I have said this, you have ignored me,” I said.

“When class started today, I reminded all of you that you needed to make sure you do two things before starting your work: connect and manage. It was a problem the other class had and I didn’t want you to forget these critical steps,” I said, as my voice got a little louder.

Then, without realizing it, I cupped my hands together like a megaphone and started talking with my “megaphone” and I guess it kind of sounded like yelling at that point.

“It’s clear that not everyone has chosen to listen to me, and you know what? That’s fine but please don’t come to my office on Monday stressing out, crying, about to throw up, whatever because your website doesn’t work. I’m trying to help you, but you won’t listen and again, that’s fine. But if you come to see me and the problem is happening because you haven’t managed the site? I’m not going to hand you a tissue for your tears and I’m going to tell you to leave my office.”

“Manage. Your. Site,” I megaphoned loudly.

Leave a Reply

