Stitch Fix #4

I received my fourth box from Stitch Fix (<–my referral link) today. (My other reviews.) I’m just going to cut to the chase in hopes that you already how this service works. This time around, I requested skirts and dresses.

First up, Oxmo – Janet Cotton Tab Sleeve Top. Surprisingly, I had the items that were featured on the style card, which were dark skinny jeans and a pair of short, brown cowboy boots. Hurrah!

off-white-shirt

So that you could see what it looks like I used the tab on one sleeve and kept the other down. Result? Blah. For $58, it wasn’t for me. For $15, it still wouldn’t be for me. I keep getting tab sleeve shirts from them, which is OK, but not my fave. You’ll see in a future post a tab sleeve that I bought at the store.

Next up, Lilla P – Aurelia Knit Skirt. I paired this one with my never-worn-in-public black patent thick belt and an also never-worn-in-public blouse from Zac and Rachel. I liked these items together, but there are a couple of issues.

knit-skirt

First, it’s a plain black knit skirt with pockets. Blah. Second, it’s a plain black knit skirt with pockets for $88. WTF? Yowza. That’s a lot of green for a whole lotta nuthin’. Needless to say, this is going back. The good thing is, I know how I can wear that top now.

Onward… This is the 41Hawthorn – Calafia Jersey Wrap Dress. I have two wrap dresses and have worn them once or twice. I like them well enough but haven’t found them to be the best style on me. Regardless, I wanted to give it a shot. It was $58, which isn’t too bad a price if the dress is right. Unfortunately, this dress was very wrong.

OK, sooooo. I’m not sure what’s going on with this dress. I’m pretty sure I put it on correctly, but it looked lopsided. Also, I don’t have a problem with a short dress, when it’s a little more fitted and “controllable” but this one was a little too free. I felt like a figure skater but I don’t wear costume bloomers.

Below is the Evolution by Cyrus – Vicky Mixed Striped Sweater Dress. Similar to the stripes, I have mixed feelings about this dress.

I tried this dress on twice. I just couldn’t figure out if I liked it or not. It looked OK and was different. It looked really good, I thought, when I stuck my hip out–a lot–but, come on. Who stands around like that? Just Beyonce as far as I know. Also, it hit my knee at a weird spot. It was just a tad too long and I’m not sure how to shorten a sweater dress. sigh.

Lastly is this item from DownEast. Tell me how fantastically cute this is!

eiffel-tower-mini

The pattern is made up of little Eiffel Towers, and best of all, it’s $38. I would totally wear this but…

It’s actually a skirt! Seriously. It was listed on my sheet as a skirt. Here’s what it looks like.

eiffel-tower-skirt

It was waaay too big. By about 4 inches in the waistline. So I had a little fun and tried it out as a mini-dress. ha! I’m a clothing MacGyver. It actually fit pretty well that way but if I kept it, I would need to add straps to it or something. Oh well.

Thoughts?

One Response to “Stitch Fix #4”

  1. Kristen Frantz Says:

    I loved your clothing MacGyver idea!!!


Leave a Reply

