Christmas in March a la Stitch Fix!

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine introduced me to Stitch Fix. Here’s some info from the “FAQs” page on their site:

Stitch Fix is a personal styling service. We get your style and size preferences, then send you a package of stylish goodies to try on at home. No two Fix shipments are alike. Each one is hand–picked just for you.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Sign Up and Complete Your Style Profile After signing up you can start immediately on your Style Profile. We need to know your size, shape, style, price preferences, and lifestyle to get your Fix right. It’ll take about 10 minutes.
  2. Schedule a Stitch Fix Pick a date, and we’ll send you a box of 5 clothing and accessory items we’ve hand-picked just for you. Schedule monthly, or as often as you like—it’s your call. You pay a $20 styling fee up front, which serves as credit toward anything in your Stitch Fix shipment.
  3. Try it all on Try on everything we send you—you never know what you’ll like until you see it on. Pair it with items already in your closet. Each item includes style cards with ideas and inspiration on how to wear it.
  4. Decide Take 3 days to decide what you’ll keep. Pay for just what you want to keep, return the rest in our pre-paid mailing bag at any USPS mailbox. Keep all 5 items and you save 25% off the entire shipment.
  5. Check Out Give us feedback on your Stitch Fix shipment—our secret (styling) sauce gets better over time if we know what did and didn’t work for you.

Sounds fun, right?… It is!

I decided to give it a try myself. While the hubby wasn’t entirely thrilled at the “risk” (the possibility of losing a $20 styling fee), I wanted to try it at least once.

This is how it played out:

January 26: I signed up and was put on the “Fix List,” which means I was wait-listed. I didn’t know if I was supposed to fill out a very detailed (yes!) style profile but I did. One part of the profile includes a series of images. Three of them are below and you are to say what you think of the style: Love it! Like most. Like some. Don’t like it much at all. Click on the images below to see a description and how I rated the style.

February 16: I received an email to fill out my profile. oops! I guess I jumped the gun. At first, I wasn’t sure if this meant I could schedule a Fix and was no longer wait-listed. Turns out, that’s exactly what it meant.

March 5: I scheduled my Fix for this date. I believe it arrived on March 4.

Once I got my box, I was sooo excited! Hubby was really excited, too. He loves getting mail. haha.

This post is getting a little long, so I will reveal my Fix in the next post. Such a tease!

Leave a Reply

