Getting Crafty

Now that summer is here, I have free time! Hooray! It’s something I have missed for the past 3 months. All of this free time has given me opportunities to work on the house. So far, I’ve hung 4 wall shelves, painted a wall, organized 2 closets, put together 4 MDF modular craft storage drawers, pulled more weeds, and planted more flowers. It’s been work but it’s also been fun. It’s nice to accomplish so much.

The other day, I painted a bulletin/cork board. It was the hubby’s from a million years ago. Weeks ago I painted the frame black and hung it in my office/closet (perhaps more about that in a later post) with the intent of, well, using it. Then I decided I wanted to hang it outside of the closet so I thought I’d paint the cork part white. The result? Terrible idea. It looked awful because I started with this pearl-like paint and the brownish color of the cork looked strange.

What to do?

Thinking I screwed it up beyond repair, I grabbed some white paint and went to town, hoping it would cover the pearl paint and use up some paint that I’ve bought for no good reason. After the white, I grabbed some black paint and started making hearts just to see if I could even paint a heart with a brush. Then I started my favorite doodle, the pseudo filigree.

This is the end result.

What do you think? Does it look OK? I was going to hang it in my office/closet.

Posted in etc.. Tags: , , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Getting Crafty”

  1. Kristen Frantz Says:

    I think it looks awesome! That’s a great idea for a college dorm room too.

  2. Michelle@craftingcollege Says:

    I like it! I think it’s fun to have a cork board be artsy but still functional


Leave a Reply

