Confessions of a Pack Rat: Bridesmaids Edition

Last night I found myself completely overwhelmed. As you might remember, we moved last month… sort of. We moved the BIG stuff last month and left a closet or two untouched. We had been happily living in our new home. Ahhhh. So much space! Then this week and last, we started dragging things over from the other house. My stuff. A lot of my stuff. I. Have. A. Lot. Of. Stuff.

I’m annoying. I’m nostalgic. And my annoying, nostalgic side turns me into a pack rat sometimes (no, not to the degree of a hoarder, thank you very much) and last night while unpacking some things, I learned that the hard way. I could no longer walk through the little room I call my “office.” Stuff was everywhere.

As I was sifting through store-branded-cheap-plastic-to-protect-your-clothes garment bags, I felt consumed. Consumed by satin, velvet, taffeta, and other shiny fabrics. Also known as bridesmaid dresses. There’s the two piece red one, the wine one, the periwinkle one, the off-white one stained from flowers, the dark green one with the shawl. At some point, there was a pale yellow one, but I don’t know what became of it. In case you were attempting to count, I’ve been in at least 6 weddings, not including my own.

I’m a mini Katherine Heigl.

I’ve held on to these beauties for such a long time, mostly out of sentiment. While they are all really pretty, I can’t wear them anywhere. And, I mean, who am I kidding? I barely fit into them when I had to wear them. There’s no way I would fit in them now. So last night I decided. It’s time to purge. I put all of the dresses on a rolling rack and continued sifting through other formal wear and clothes I had not worn in a while.

They are going to be donated and maybe some kid out there will find a new prom dress. The green (sans shawl) and red ones are particularly nice.

What a freeing experience. I thought I would feel guilty, but I don’t. I suppose the resulting clean-ish office makes me happier than taffeta. 🙂

Can you relate? Share your bridesmaid/purging stories with me.

2 Responses to “Confessions of a Pack Rat: Bridesmaids Edition”

  1. thedailydish Says:

    A dear friend from high school is holding a sale on Saturday in Philadelphia, all proceeds benefit cancer research. If only I’d known about these earlier, I’d have asked you to send them his way!! Wonderful that you’re donating them. Some women or girls will be very happy. I’ve only been maid of honor once, my sister’s wedding, and never a bridesmaid. Good for my closet, I guess?


Leave a Reply

