Thanksgiving Dinner, the progression.

As many of you may know, I’m culinarily challenged but my favorite holiday is Thanksgiving. These past few years, I’ve tried to do something new with dinner. Sometimes it was by my own doing. Other times, well, it was the will of the universe.

Years ago, I used to buy pre-packaged meals from the grocery store, where they would give me a big box filled with Turkey Day goodies: a turkey that needed re-heating, stuffing, green beans, rolls, mashed potatoes, and a pie of my choosing. We always enjoyed those but it was always way too much food.

One year, I decided to go it alone and put everything together myself. As far as I can remember, everything was fine. After that, I felt confident and continued to buy everything separately but goofed on the turkey. It was frozen. Uh. How? What? I called my dad about that one.

One time, I brought a chocolate pudding pie to the hubby’s aunt’s house. No one died or got sick.

Somewhere along the way, I started buying just a turkey breast and some sides because we were invited to friends’ houses… but I still needed leftovers!

I think it was last year or the year before that I ventured out and made the mashed potatoes myself. That’s probably not a big deal to most people, but it is for me. I boil over pots almost every time I use the stove!

This year, I’m going to try this method with the turkey breast that I saw on Food Network. I’m going to make an herb butter and rub it all over the turkey. AND I’m going to try to make gravy, too!

Wish me luck and Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

