10 Years Ago

I was curious about what I felt 10 years ago, so I scoured my files to see if I had written anything about it. I came up empty handed, but I did find something that I wrote in 2006.

It’s 5 years later. September 11, 2006.

I can’t believe how long it’s been since that day. I remember that I was in my car on my way to work when I heard about what was going on. When I got to work, I rushed inside, turned on the tv and then emailed everyone working for the town to let them know. I cried a lot that day.

Today I woke up to find 9/11 ceremonies on tv. I watched for a minute or two then I had to shut the tv off. I don’t mean to disrespect anyone who died that day or anyone who may have been affected by the day’s events. I really could not take it. I would have thought the feeling would have worn off by now. I guess I’m still quite emotional about it. I’d say that’s probably a good thing, right?

What’s interesting about what I wrote 5 years ago is that I could easily change the date to 2011 and I would still feel the same. Deep down inside, I still feel so sad about that day. I can barely think about it without getting teary-eyed. I still remember getting ready to turn onto campus as I heard the news on the radio. I remember not understanding what was happening until I saw it on tv. I remember just finishing a show about the fire department and learning about the chirping alarms firefighters wear. I remember hearing a lot of chirping coming from the tv. I remember sitting on the couch with my co-workers as we watched the events unfold.

I remember crying a lot that day and still crying today.

One Response to “10 Years Ago”

  1. thedailydish Says:

    I feel much the same way you do. I will never forget the day.


Leave a Reply

