Social Media Separation

I’m too LinkedIn to give a Twitter about your Facebook!

I’m knee-deep in social media and it’s kind of annoying. I feel like there is too much out there and probably too much repetition between all of it. So, I’m separating myself… sort of. I’m not leaving it or using it any more or any less, but I’m organizing everything into little compartments just as I have done with the different blogs I have written. There are different levels of access and different blogs serve different purposes/topics.

Facebook – This is the primary one. It’s the one I check the most and I’m keeping this one personal. No more following businesses or information sources on this one. This is for those without a Twitter feed and for my friends. Like, real life friends. And, yes, my students find me there, too. It’s OK, though, they are on restricted access, along with people I don’t know all that well. They don’t get to see any pics of me and the hubby. I use my maiden name on here and don’t connect to his page.

Twitter – This is the secondary. I used to use it purely for my entertainment. I swore I would only follow people if they were funny. It has now grown to my entities-I’ve-never-met-but-could-add-some-value-to-my-life social media. This is where I stalk Conan O’Brien and Rob Lowe but also follow people who talk photography and video production. Sometimes my Facebook status and Twitter status don’t match up, and that is intentional. I spew really random tweets sometimes. (In one of my phases, I tweeted whatever search terms I Googled.) I don’t have a lot of followers and, well, I don’t really want a lot of them. Not to mention, anyone who follows me, I don’t necessarily follow back. I also follow, unfollow, and refollow tweeters on a whim. I try not to follow more than 20 tweeters at a time.

LinkedIn – I have it, but I don’t pay attention to it.

Google+ – I’m still trying to figure this one out. I have it because, well, I have to be up on this stuff and know how it works. I feel it’s necessary, given the area of study I teach. Only those who have my personal email can get to me on this, unless, of course, they find me using my work email. Yeah, I somehow have two accounts. Lovely.

What about you? Are you in the social media swarm? How do you handle it?

2 Responses to “Social Media Separation”

  1. thedailydish Says:

    I am so slow on the uptake, it’s not funny. You’d think a woman who’s been blogging the past 4 yrs would have a clue, but sadly… I joined twitter late last year at the urging of a friend (CurlyWurlyGurly). I am just beginning to figure it out. Now. All these months later. I seriously think there should be a course on how this stuff works (I’m certain there are many but I am too unmotivated to even Google it.) I am not linkedin (self employed) and am just now seeing Google+ — My husband is an IT guy and is always talking about this stuff. I really should be more proactive. I do run a recipe site and am its sole promoter. Still.. Yet… Sigh..

    There just aren’t enough hrs in the day for me to devote to real life, let alone a virtual one.

    PS: Join me on Twitter! Facebook! Online!

    hahahahhahah (no i am serious)

    😉

    • that girl Says:

      I know what you mean. I also volunteer to do all of this for my band. I can handle it in the summer when I’m not working but it’s going to slow down quite a bit when I get back to work.

      Since you don’t actively search this stuff out, if it helps, here’s a tip for you. If you add “#fb” (no quotes) at the end of a tweet, it will end up as your Facebook status as long as you set up an app called Selective Tweets on your Facebook page. It’s not perfect but for some updates it works well.


Leave a Reply

