Call Me Mrs. MacGyver

I don’t know about you but I like to get gussied up. I’m not too much of a girlie girl but I do love buying new dresses for special occasions like weddings, dinners, and receptions. Not that I am a social butterfly. I’m not. I just like dresses. I already have to get somewhat dressed up for work in the typical black pants and nice shirt combo, so a dress is a nice change of pace.

Today, I had a reception to attend. I bought this really cute blue dress to wear. The hubby zipped me up and I was ready to go! (He had to work so he did not go with me.)

It was hot day today so when I got home a few hours later, I was ready to change into some shorts and a t-shirt. The problem? I couldn’t get out of my dress! I was stuck. Ever have this happen to you? This was a first for me. I guess the hubby has always helped me in the past or I’ve had dresses that didn’t have a zipper going down the back. I could only get my zipper to move about 4 inches because I couldn’t reach it after that! It was so frustrating. I was sweating. I was uncomfortable and there was nothing I could do about it.

Until…

I busted into MacGyver mode. I grabbed a wire hanger, thinking I could use that to move the zipper. No luck. I then grabbed a roll of masking tape. I pulled a foot of tape from the roll, stuck the zipper tab in the middle of the end of the tape, and folded the tape over tightly. I gave it a little tug. Please don’t rip. Please don’t rip. And I was able to pull the zipper down and get out of the dress. Hooray!

Crafty, right? Yeah, I thought so, too. 🙂

Tomorrow I’m wearing the side-zip dress to graduation.

One Response to “Call Me Mrs. MacGyver”

  1. thedailydish Says:

    LOL!! Well done!

    I have on occasion had this happen to me, but I am no where NEAR you in terms of creativity. And fortunately I’ve got kids who’ll come running to help if I scream loudly enough!


Leave a Reply

