A New Homophone

I know I shouldn’t laugh at my students, but sometimes, I just can’t help it. They make silly writing mistakes, they don’t read over their own work, and they say funny things.

Just the other day, after I called out one of my students (who can handle a little embarrassment) in front of the rest of the class, a couple of my students said I should keep a blog of all the things that I pick up on in class. You know, things that I see now that I have grown “teacher eyes.” I’m not going to go that far, but I couldn’t resist sharing with you the following paraphrased sentence from a written assignment: It was challenging not being close to the volleyball quart.

Ha! And there you have it. A new homophone… and another lesson in how spell check can’t help you.

One Response to “A New Homophone”

  1. Terribly Write Says:

    That’s hilarious. I’ve seen lots of unusual homophone errors reading Yahoo and writing about it on my blog. But this is far funnier than anything I’ve found.


Leave a Reply

