Roller Derby!

I recently learned that one of my friends from high school is on a roller derby team in the DC area! (Thanks, Facebook.) Wacky, right? I’ve been seeing a lot of roller derby stuff lately and thought I would see if there is a local league. Much to my surprise, there is! How fun… or not? I’m not sure. For two seconds I thought this would be fun to do. I’m quite good at roller skating and I’m pretty fast.

Then I found this video that explained the rules.

Hmm. Maybe I’m too delicate for such antics. But I did come up with a roller derby name: Professor Pain. What would be your roller derby name? Here’s a link to help you out. Would you ever join a roller derby league?

4 Responses to “Roller Derby!”

  1. kristen Says:

    i LOVE roller derby!! unfortunately, i have yet to make it to any of the DC or Baltimore bouts. the wife of one of my coworkers used to skate for one of the teams here. it seems everytime there’s a match i have to work 😦

  2. Lisa Says:

    I like Agony Christie!

  3. Stephanie of Stopbouncing Says:

    My main concern would be people seeing my tukus as I fell over and cried like a little girl with a skinned knee.
    And a broken forearm.

    P.S.
    “Rumble Kittie”

  4. OliveWildly Says:

    GO FOR IT. I’ve been skating with my team in WI for about half a year now. I wish I had your previous skating experience. The toughest part for most cherries (rookies) is getting used to skating again.

    You should check out one of your local team’s practices. Remember, non of those girls learned this sport in high school gym class. We all started as adults without any knowledge of the play of the game.

    @ Stephanie of Stopbouncing – What you were on the track is completely up to you. A lot of the girls skating at the WFTDA Championships last year wore spandex leggings.

    – Olive Wildly, Paper Valley Roller Girls


Leave a Reply

