Old Car: Margaret II

Margaret II hit the scene in July 2000. She is an awesome car. I say is because I still have her. I adore her to pieces. She is a 2000 silver Jetta. She looks just like the one in the picture, aside from the paper hanging in the window.

Margaret II and I have bonded from day 1. She was my first new new car, as opposed to my former new-to-me cars. She’s simple but lovely. She doesn’t have all the bells and whistles of other Jettas, just the basics: A/C, automatic windows, radio (with a Monsoon speaker system that was already installed) and manual transmission.

My first funny memory of Margaret II was when I first got her and one of my friends climbed into her truck… because he could. She has a nice sized trunk for a smaller car.

The back seat is a little small, but since I never sit back there, it doesn’t really matter all that much to me. haha. In her lifetime, there have only been about a dozen different passengers in the car. Most of the time, it’s just me and Margaret II.

She is a fun, zippy drive around town and a little vocal on the highway. She gets really good gas mileage, too. I can get about 420 highway miles on one tank! Isn’t that incredible?! She has less than 77k miles, too!

She is in pretty good condition, aside from some minor things here and there. She has a few scratches from other car doors bumping into her. There is a bigger scratch from putting a bag on top of the trunk, and there are some scratches on the back bumper from when she was rear ended a couple of months ago but nothing major. She’s had a nice life being kept in the garage for the past 10 years. I would like to keep her forever, but there’s a new car in town.

Next up: Hans

One Response to “Old Car: Margaret II”

  1. Stephanie of Stopbouncing Says:

    oh, see, now the “Jets Theme” from West Side Story is playing in my head…
    *snapping*

    ohhhh, a more betterer car than MII?


Leave a Reply

