Holiday Rules

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday and I find that it is frequently overshadowed by Halloween and Christmas. Well, Christmas mostly. I believe in celebrating holidays as they come, not having one overtake another. It’s November, people. That means Thanksgiving not Christmas. As such, I have rules that I live by that allow me to give Thanksgiving the support it deserves.

Rule #1: No Christmas music should be played before Thanksgiving has passed. One of our local radio stations started playing Christmas music in November last year and I begrudgingly tolerated it. But I’m not going to take it any more! Anarchy! I’ve started listening to another station and use iTunes while in my office.

Rule #2: No acknowledgment or mention of Santa Claus before Thanksgiving. I was beyond dumbfounded when my sister sent me a picture of her girls with Santa earlier this month. While I realize that there is no imaginary Thanksgiving representative lingering in a little village at the mall, it seems too soon. Maybe it’s a thing that parents do that I just don’t understand.

Rule #3: No Christmas trees before Thanksgiving. Seriously, people. This is jumping the gun. Our neighbor actually has pumpkin decorations on her porch and a lit Christmas tree in her main window. Vomit.

I know, it seems like I’m acting like a little Scrooge. I’m really not. I think Christmas can be an over-commercialized a lovely holiday. I’d just like for Thanksgiving to have its moment. Don’t you agree?

2 Responses to “Holiday Rules”

  1. Stephanie of Stopbouncing Says:

    amen sister.
    There’s two stations already playing Christmas music.
    Too many people have their decorations up and lit. It’s one thing to take advantage of nice weather, it’s quite another to be “YEEEEAHHHHHHH”.
    This doesn’t happen with other holidays… People aren’t putting their inflatable patriotic Snoopy out on June 1st….

    I fear for when we spawn and I have to explain EVERYDAY that Christmas is still 3 months away, despite Santa being next to new crayons.

  2. Thomas Wayne Says:

    I agree totally. I’m tired of the holidays being merged. Thanksgiving gets overshadowed (like you said), and the wonderful Christmas season gets cheapened because it’s now 2 months long!

    Unfortunately, retailers didn’t get the memo to keep the holidays separate. But if they’re going to be combined, here’s a mascot for all 3 holidays together: combining Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.


Leave a Reply

