No Autographs, Please

I know famous people. I did a satellite interview with Rosie O’Donnell. I interviewed Andrew Shue (Billy of old Melrose Place) a few years ago. I’ve met Kevin Bacon. I’ve spoken to David Cook…. OK, OK. I’ll admit it. I don’t know any of those people. But did you know I’m married to a celebrity? Yeah. It’s soo true.

Some of you already know the back story, but for those of you who don’t, here it is. Years ago the hubby worked in local news as an on-air person. He was a reporter-type and also filled in at the sports desk for a while. Back in those days, it was not uncommon for him to be recognized. It was kind of strange at times but not entirely unexpected.

All right, so he’s not really a celebrity. It’s not like he gets mobbed at the grocery store, but his pseudo-celebrity has brought some amusement to our life.

Years ago when I was interviewed for my previous job and the hubby had just left local television, people found out about us somehow. That in and of itself is strange because I never mentioned it and I use my maiden name for work. Regardless, people found out and this seemed to intrigue them. “You’re married to that sports guy on TV? That’s _____[insert synonym to neat or cool or somewhat fascinating].” Or “Your husband is ______? Wow. We really liked watching him on TV.”  um. OK. Really? You know who he is and you are a… fan? huh. I never knew how to respond to these comments.

Even after being out of the TV biz for a few years, this woman came up to him while he was working at his present job and asked about his being on TV. She spoke to him as if she knew him. When he first told me this story, I couldn’t believe it and all I could do was laugh. I even questioned if the woman perhaps mistook him for someone else but she seemed to have her facts down. The memories that people have are amazing!

Rewind to last weekend, TEN YEARS post-TV. The hubby comes home and begins to tell me this story that seems rather ordinary. He was talking to this man when the man’s friend walks up and introductions begin. The man introduces the hubby to the friend, and the friend says, “Oh, I know you. You’re from the TV station. You used to do the news.” Seriously?! The hubby replies, “Oh man, that was a long time ago!” The friend says, “Well, I’ve been here a long time.” I, for one, could not believe the story and the hubby insisted that it was true. Then we both busted out laughing.

Now that you know about his celebrity status, I’m sure you want an interview, right? Your wish is my command. A brief exclusive interview with the hubby.

that girl: Have you ever signed an autograph?
the hubby: Yes, I have actually.
that girl: Really?
the hubby: I remember it was in Martinsville. This kid came up to me and asked me for my autograph on this piece of paper. I told him, “You don’t want to ruin this autograph,” referring to the autograph he got from Dale Earnhardt, Sr. moments beforehand. And the kid says, “Oh… yeah I do.” And so I signed this piece of paper for him, right next to Dale Earnhardt’s signature.

Ah, the legacy lives on.

3 Responses to “No Autographs, Please”

  1. kristen Says:

    i think you’re both celebs!!

    afterall, you’re my link to kevin bacon!!!! (as a side note, i once told the spouse that he was only 3 degrees away from kevin bacon and for some reason he didn’t find that nearly as fascinating as i did)

  2. Lisa Says:

    OK weird. I was thinking about this on the way to work that I gave a kid an autograph one time. I don’t remember why or when. It may have been when I was with the New Vas.

  3. Bill Coleman Says:

    It’s the connection the celebrity makes with the fan that matters. Some people would enjoy their local weatherman more than Tom Cruise.


Leave a Reply

