Dirty Qwerty

Yesterday I walked into my office at work and there was a new-to-me computer on my desk! Yay! It was so exciting because my current desktop computer is quite slow. It takes me forever to open a file and for some reason I can’t save to certain folders.

As with any new-to-me item, you can’t expect perfection. There might be a little scratch here and some dirt there. With this particular computer, it had been in a computer lab and used my many different people, so I didn’t expect it to be top notch. It needed some cleaning. Mainly it was the keyboard that needed a scrub down. The Qwerty was dirty. So first I took out my can of compressed air and went to town, but that just didn’t seem to do the job. Some of the lesser-used keys were still gross and there was a field of debris under the keys.

So what’s a gal to do?

I yanked out every. key. in. the. keyboard.

And yuckiness ensued. A lot of yuckiness.

Looks clean-ish, right?

Looks clean-ish, right? It's just the poor quality of the camera.

GROSSNESS ALERT!

And this was AFTER the compressed air. Ewww.

And this was AFTER the compressed air. Ewww.

Almost done. Check out the vertical Enter key.

Almost done. Check out the vertical Enter key.

That's one big fuzz ball.

That's one big fuzz ball.

In case you needed a close up.

In case you needed a close up.

It was well worth it. The keyboard looks brand new!

It was well worth it. The keyboard looks brand new!

I learned a few things along the way. For instance, there is a little bit of oil under the keys that collects dust particles, rendering it impossible to remove them with just air. You really need Q-tips to gather all the gunk, or you can use a plastic knife with a napkin wrapped around the blade like I did.

Also, the keys are really easy to remove without fear of breaking the keyboard. And you can’t be afraid of breaking it. I remember when I was a kid, one of my NKOTB videos got stuck in the VCR. Unbeknownst to my parents, I took the VCR apart, rescued the tape, repaired the tape, and put the VCR back together. As a side note, when you do remove the keys, make sure you keep them in the right order or have another keyboard handy to avoid typing ainwrgubf ubxieewxtrkt something incorrectly.

Oh, yeah, and if you use a can of compressed air, you can use the condensation on the can to clean the funky keys. Don’t use one of those wipe things because they will take a while to dry and the keys will feel sticky afterwards.

Lastly, make sure you have a vaccuum handy so that you can get all of those blown-out particles off your floor… or maybe try using a strong vaccuum to start with. Hmm. That’s an idea!

Leave a Reply

