Website Worthy

I’ve been thinking about creating a website for myself for a while now. The question is, am I worthy? I made one for work about 2 years ago because… well… it seemed apropos for what I teach and appeared to be the hip, younger instructor thing to do.

And I’ve been piddling around on iWeb and Weebly.com just to see how things work and because I don’t feel like starting from scratch in Dreamweaver. The thing is, what do you put on a website? It’s not as if I sell things or offer a service. I really don’t want to put personal information on it, nor do I want to include an address to this blog. (The last thing I want is for my students to read my non-sensical ramblings.) Do I put what courses I teach on it?

I would look to my colleagues to see what they put on their sites, but their academic awesomeness is far beyond what I could ever accomplish. I’m not published. I’m not a PhD. I don’t do research. Hmm…. And what goes on the home page? Do you just say, “Welcome to my site” and talk about yourself or is that what an “about me” page is for?

Maybe this isn’t a good idea. haha.

One Response to “Website Worthy”

  1. megan Says:

    I think it’s a great idea to create a website for yourself …if you really think you need it. Personally, I have one for my professional self, touting how awesome I am and what I’ve done to make myself so awesome. If you have more to say than what you would normally write here, then I say go for it. If not, I say stick with entertaining us here.


Leave a Reply

