Pet Store Encounters

I went to the pet store today to get some goodies for the pup and an odd thing happened at the cash register. I had a confrontation with the cashier. It wasn’t about price or whether or not I had my discount card. It was odd.

As I fumbled around attempting to return my wallet back to my bag, the cashier mumbled something like this: “You know after July first, it will be illegal to text message while driving.” Initially, I had no idea she was talking to me until I looked up an noticed there was no one else around. (Huh? Are you talking to me? And if so, what?) Being one to strike up random conversations with people, I decided not to ignore her and responded: “Well, I guess it’s a good thing… for safety.”

Then the mumbly cashier said… wait for it… wait for it… “But I’m good at it.” Dumbfounded by how quickly this conversation shifted to the ludicrous, I flatly said the only thing I could think of, “You’re not that good.” Mumbly cashier’s retort? “I am. I’m real good at it.”

Am I on hidden camera? Are you seriously telling me one of your notable skills is your text-messaging ability while driving a car? Are you bragging about this? Who are you? Floored by this woman’s insistance of her greatness, I had to shut her down. “No… No, you’re not.” And then I gave her a look of how are you employed? and walked out of the store.

Was that weird or what? Laughable!

One Response to “Pet Store Encounters”

  1. Stephanie of Stopbouncing Says:

    That is weird… It’s good to be good a texting and it’s good to be a good driver, however the two are mutually exclusive.


Leave a Reply

