On Top of the World!

For our last official school day in Switzerland, a handful of students and I wanted to go to the top of a mountain after classes finished. Now I don’t know about you, but I’m not one to hike a mountain. Though I’m not a big fan of hiking, I don’t mind walking. While I was in Europe, walking everywhere was quite the norm. But a mountain? That is not my thing.

Luckily enough, my sentiments were shared by the group. My motto: “Take a hit on the wallet but not on the body.” So we quickly made arrangements to take a train to the top of Monte Generoso. Yay, Europe. Trains everywhere! Cost? About 20 Swiss Francs. Thanks, student rates. We’ll take it!

As you can imagine, the view getting to the top was very picturesque. We even saw some interesting sights along the way, including:

I believe this is the Italian side of the mountain. Check out the crazy hikers!

I believe this is the Italian side of the mountain. Check out the crazy hikers!

When the train came to the last stop, we had some work ahead of us. Hey, if that dog can do it, why can’t I?… Oh, yeah, it’s because he’s a DOG and I’m an old lady!

But wait, we're not at the top?! We have to climb a lot of stairs to get to the summit.

But wait, we're not at the top?! We have to climb a lot of stairs to get to the summit.

So that I didn’t die, I had to take it a slow. I mean, I’m not 20 anymore. Along the way, there were lovely views of the lake below.

Not quite to the top but a great view of Lake Lugano, the lake by my apartment.

Not quite to the top but a great view of Lake Lugano, the lake by my apartment.

Victory! We took a bunch of pictures at the top of the mountain. Even the trek up the stairs was quite an accomplishment. There was poop to dodge, which I’m guessing was from goats, and looking down was not an option.

At the top, there is a guardrail-enclosed area, but for some reason, we decided to step outside of it. Considering my vertigo issues from December, perhaps this wasn’t the brightest idea on my part. Maybe it was the altitude. So below you will see a very ballsy moment in time. Two inches closer to the edge and I’m pretty sure I would have tumbled to my death. High altitude = lack of oxygen = lack of sensibility.

Yes!.. 1700+ meters and I made it!... It's scary up here! Don't look down.

Yes!.. 1700+ meters and I made it!... It's scary up here! Don't look down.

One Response to “On Top of the World!”

  1. Stephanie of Stopbouncing Says:

    How beautiful!
    Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

