When It Rains, It Pours.

Today began with my getting up early to give a make up final exam. The exam was scheduled for 9:30 and this morning I also had to remember to bring in student projects that had been cluttering the house as well as textbooks that I needed to ship out for the Study Abroad program. Also on tap today was graduation walk-through.

As I was getting ready to leave the house, I headed downstairs (on that level we have a small foyer, coat closet, garage, and storage room) to put on my shoes. Imagine my shock when my socks were soaking wet in less than 2 seconds. The foyer was wet, really wet. The little carpet that is under our feet when we come into the front door was soaked, so was the tile, so was the carpet in the coat closet, our shoes, the garage, and everything that was on the ground in the storage room. What a mess.

It rained a lot last night. And by a lot, I mean torrential downpours, a mudslide in the neighborhood, and one of my friends (who is a colleague from work and lives on the next street) having his home condemned. It’s been a laborious day but I am thankful that we only lost some negligible items and had water clean up to do. We had the worst problem in our row of townhouses, but I can’t imagine what my friend is going through right now, and I don’t even know where he is. I’ve tried calling him all day with no luck. I didn’t even find out the full extent of his problem until I happened to watch the 10 o’clock news, and I immediately walked over to his house to check on him, but he is no longer there. He doesn’t use a cell phone. It’s graduation weekend and most of the hotels in town are packed.

I’ve reached my capacity for stress these past few months. Help me out and try to think positive thoughts and hope it doesn’t rain any more.

Posted in etc.. Tags: . 1 Comment »

One Response to “When It Rains, It Pours.”

  1. Annie Says:

    Oh man…I’m so sorry. I’ll send you some dry weather vibes…and easy clean up ones too.


Leave a Reply

