Breaking Bread, Breaking Down Walls

Today I took a couple of my students to lunch. I thought it would be fun thing to do since they will be graduating next week and the likelihood in my seeing them any time soon is quite slim. I have known one of them since his first semester as a transfer student, which also happens to be the first semester I started teaching. And I grew closer to the other student when she would help me put classroom equipment away and ask me questions about life after graduation. On top of that, the two of them are good friends, so it made for a fun afternoon.

I no longer felt the need to act like their “instructor” and they were more open than they have ever been in the past. It was a David Hasselhoff moment in Berlin. The walls came down. Truly, it is not until you have a meal with someone that you truly begin to see who they are. The conversations were rather amusing and enlightening. Some stories were unexpected and a little scandalous but not surprising.

Oh, what a difference a day makes! I was stuck in world of misery for such a long time, lunch with the two of them really perked me up. All in all, I’m so glad I did it. 🙂

Posted in etc.. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Breaking Bread, Breaking Down Walls”

  1. nat @ book, line, and sinker Says:

    funny! i also went with a group of seniors to lunch last week. it was such a great time–i’ve worked with them for four years and they’re getting ready to graduate (and leave me!). our private school is small, so i get to know each student on a personal level…but lunch was nice.

    now, i must go prepare–i’m chaperoning a CAMPING trip for grades 9-11 tomorrow morning and need to gather my supplies. hahaha.

    curly wurly gurly (logged in as my other blog and too lazy to sign out…)


Leave a Reply

