Oooh, Courier, You’re sooo Fonty!

I confess. I love fonts. I even have a t-shirt that reads “Times New Roman” across the front, and that’s it. AND it’s written in Times New Roman! I have a tendency to use a the same font for a really long period of time on everything I type. My old standby is Lucida Sans. And it excited me to know that Switzerland’s official name in Latin is Confoederatio Helvetica.

I have an entire lecture that probably bores my students to tears because it’s all about typefaces and fonts. (Geek Info: there is actually a difference between a typeface and a font but we tend to use the term font more often because of computer usage.) Then again, I could be wrong about the boredom thing. One of my students from a couple of semesters ago sent me a link to this utterly hilarious vide0: Font Fight – http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1908292

Turns out that it is the sequel to Font Conference -http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1823766.

One Response to “Oooh, Courier, You’re sooo Fonty!”

  1. nat @ book, line, and sinker Says:

    i also adore fonts…and really dig papyrus right now. i was surprised to learn that some fonts have such a rich history–only recently i figured it out after reading the last page of a novel i finished. it was a half page of info about the font! cool.
    CWG 🙂


Leave a Reply

