I Don’t Buy It

For some time now I’ve been checking out various flights to Europe this summer. I recently heard about a train that goes to New York City, departing from various locations within the state that I live in. The cost wasn’t terrible, so after hearing this, I realized that I now had a lot more options.

So a bargain hunting I went….

And I found a flight for $160! Now, being the savvy traveler that I am and the one that keeps telling the kids to look for the hidden fees, I knew that it was too good to be true. But at $160, it was worth looking at. Since the website wouldn’t reveal the taxes and fees, I decided to hit the button to begin the booking of the flight. Clicky, clicky, clicky.

picture-5

Check it out! It’s only $416.30 for taxes and fees. Well, that sounds sooo reasonable. I mean, it’s what? only two and a half times the price of the “ticket.” That is ridiculous! While the overall cost of the ticket isn’t bad, I’m so annoyed by fees that I’ll pass.

Am I wrong in thinking that it would be a lot more appealing and less psychologically damaging to list the price at $566.30 and say “Taxes and fees included?”

2 Responses to “I Don’t Buy It”

  1. megan Says:

    I’ve found that I like Hotwire. The prices they quote include all taxes and fees. So, when I booked a flight to Ohio in March for $140.40, my credit card was charged $140.40.

  2. Annie Says:

    Wow. That sucks. I also wish instead of charging for baggage, airlines would just build $25 more into the price of the ticket.

    Was that a ticket to Europe for $500 though?????


Leave a Reply

