Early Onset of the Lazy

This morning as I was leaving to go to work, I noticed a boy standing on a corner. It was odd, but I guessed that school must have been delayed because of the non-weather and the dry street. Anyway. He was wearing a backpack and waiting for the school bus. In the meantime, I loaded the car. I had some stuff to get situated in the trunk, had to get my work stuff in on the passenger side, and got into the car. By the time I got out of the driveway, the school bus pulled up moments later and the boy hopped on.

I ended up following the bus onto the main street in the neighborhood thinking that the full school bus must be headed to the middle school. Imagine my surprise when it turned into the high school.

The star is where the kid was. The red line is an easy path to school. Less than 1/3 a mile.

Exhibit A

Why is this such a shocker? See Exhibit A. The red star indicates where the boy waited for the bus. The red line represents the easiest, non-tresspassing way to walk to the school.  This is not a tough walk. The hubby and I have walked to the tennis courts and the track. The school is a tiny bit further away. It takes five minutes, if that. According to MapQuest, it’s about a third of a mile and that’s without cutting through the parking lot! The bus turned into the parking lot about 15 seconds after picking the kid up.

Is it me or does that seem really, really lame? Is there a law that I am unaware of? Is a “child” not permitted to walk to school? I see them walking home from the school all the time. Why did the kid wait in the cold for the bus when it probably would have been quicker to just walk. Is this the Lazy creeping in? What’s the deal here? Seems like a waste of money to pick up kids in my neighborhood when they can easily walk.

Posted in etc.. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Early Onset of the Lazy”

  1. Annie Says:

    But…but…walking requires effort! And energy!

    Or maybe he’s just too cool to walk.

    One day, he’s going to end up in a college classroom asking the teacher to get him a job. 🙂

  2. curlywurlygurly Says:

    hmm…when i was a kid, if you lived a mile or less from the grammar school, you had to WALK. when we got to middle and high school, the bus picked us up a 1/4 mile from our house. times are different, i guess. (gee, i’m not dating myself or anything here, right?)

  3. megan Says:

    That’s pretty lame-o. We can only hope that he was a “special needs” kid who physically could not walk the third of a mile to school. If not, I am swiftly losing faith in our school’s transportation systems.

    I think there was some sort of rule in my school district where students who lived within a mile and a quarter radius of the school had to walk. Or drive. The point is, they couldn’t be bussed in if they lived that close. I lived exactly a mile and a quarter (perhaps a little farther) away from the school, so baby, you know I had to walk. Through heat and cold and wind and rain and across scary intersections I walked to school.

    You’d better believe MY kids are going to walk to school if we live that close.


Leave a Reply

