Regional Differences

Depending on where you live, certain words are preferred over others. You say “pop” and your cousin says “soda.”  You stand on line. I stand in it.

Now that the winter months are upon us, I hear the word “toboggan” used quite a bit. I always thought this was a kind of sled, but the hubby and someone on the news recently used it to refer to a knit hat. How can it be that such an odd word can mean two very different things? “Hey, little Johnny, be sure to wear your toboggan before you ride your toboggan.” This is bothersome to me.

By the way, I refer to carbonated drinks by their brand name and not “pop,”  “soda,” or -gasp- “soda pop.”

Posted in etc.. Tags: . 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Regional Differences”

  1. Annie Says:

    My fiance and I had the biggest row over ‘toboggan’. He said he was going to bring a toboggan when we went up to CT for Christmas – I was like, why are you going to bring a sled???

    So weird.

    Um, down south they also call soda “Coke”. As in, “You want a Coke?”
    “Sure”
    “What kind?”
    “Sprite”

    WTF????

  2. that girl Says:

    What is a row? That’s a new one for me.

  3. kristen Says:

    ah yes. i am also in the “a toboggan is a hat” group.

    i use a buggy at the grocery store.

    i drink pop.

    my hubby “outens” the lights. and when we’re out of some item in the fridge, pantry, etc…he says “the milk is all”.

    hubby: the milk is all.
    me: all what?
    hubby: it’s ALL!
    me: ALL WHAT??

    apparently pennsylvania dutch folks can’t complete sentences 🙂

  4. megan Says:

    I’ve only recently begun using the term “toboggan” when referring to a hat. I blame that one on the fiance.

    I stand in line, and I push a cart at the grocery store.

    Carbonated beverages are referred to with regard to my relative position to the Mason-Dixon line: it’s “Coke” when I’m south, and “soda” when I’m north. Now, this terminology is used only when speaking in very general terms. I’ll be much more specific when I know what I want, using the brand name itself. But it’s generally easier to assume that people know what I’m talking about.


Leave a Reply

