Anxiety Attack

The last and only time that I think I had an anxiety attack was over 10 years ago when I rode in the car with the hubby’s grandfather. He was driving to meet up with the rest of the family at the beach over 5-hours away. His reaction time was not-so-good, so the ride was a lot to deal with…. This from someone who has worked in live television! I can take a high amount of stress. So today when I had another attack, it was incredible to me. Sweating, chills, nausea, numbness, tingling, crying. All in the span of just a few minutes. It was a little scary. And I guess I’m writing to warn the rest of you about what caused this attack.

The hubby had outpatient surgery today. Never in the 15 years that we’ve known each other have I ever seen him dibilitated. Sure, there have been days where he’s been sick or injured from playing softball. But this was completely different.

Before the surgery he was sitting in the little bed-gurney thing in his gown and we were kidding around about some stuff. When I came back to take him home (they said I was supposed to leave), it was quite a different story. He had an IV, he could barely move, he couldn’t speak, and he was half-asleep. His nose was bleeding from the surgery. I tell you what, dear readers, this was enough to send me into an attack. Before the nurse came in to brief me about how to take care of hubby, I could feel pain in my stomach and I felt like I was going to throw up. When she came in, I couldn’t concentrate. My feet felt tingly and I started to sweat and feel cold at the same time. I even started getting weepy after she left the room. The nurse was worried about me more than she was hubby! Not good.

I eventually pulled myself out of the attack and went back to normal by the time I had to drive us home. I think what I’ve figured out is that seeing hubby in this condition really sent me into a tailspin and that is what I’m warning you about. I suppose it’s one thing if your wife is giving birth. That usually results in a new little bundle of joy, but seeing your hubby all helpless might affect you in a very scary way. It did me.

Posted in etc., Health. Tags: . 5 Comments »

5 Responses to “Anxiety Attack”

  1. Annie Says:

    Anxiety attacks suck. I’m sorry you had to go through that. Hope your hubby heals up quick and feels better soon.

  2. Stephanie of Stopbouncing Says:

    Husbands are supposed to be infallible aren’t they?

    Give him an extra hug.

  3. Lisa Says:

    I am right up the street if you need anything!

    hugs!

  4. curlywurlygurly Says:

    ohh! that is horrid. i hope you and your hubs are both feeling better soon. πŸ™‚

  5. hubby Says:

    I am doing quite well with no pain at all but this nonstop nose bleed keeps me out of work, so that is good too. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

