Delusions and Desperation

You know that Christmas song It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year? I’d like to change the lyrics. Here is a snippet of the song for your reference:

It’s the most wonderful time of the year
With kids jingle belling
And everyone telling you “Be of good cheer”
It’s the most wonderful time of the year
It’s the hap-happiest season of all
With those holiday greetings and gay happy meetings
When friends come to call
It’s the hap-happiest season of all

And now, I present to you, my version:

It’s the most desperate time of the year.
With the kids belly aching
And everyone telling me “A D’s what I fear.”
It’s the most desperate time of the year.
It’s the whine-whinest season of all.
With those days without eating and advising meetings
When panic hits all
It’s the end of the semester for Fall.

Tada! Do you like it? 🙂 This is what it has been like now that we are deep in exam week and what more is to come as we close out the Fall semester. There is a flood, nay, blizzard of desperation that hits my office. And the delusional ones are the first to make snow angels. Hate to break it to you, kiddies. If you didn’t turn in an assignment worth 15% of your grade that was due in October, it’s probably too late. Same goes for those of you who missed the last month of class without getting in touch with me.

Yes, I’m just as thrilled about seeing you next semester as you are. Happy Holidays.

To my bloggie friends, I have a gift for you. A gift tag, if you will. It’s a new tag I’m calling, “It’s not me. It’s you.” to be used in times of head-scratching and encounters with general nonsense, not breakups with crazed boyfriends.

Leave a Reply

