For the Love of Benji

bengithehunterposterDo you guys remember Benji the dog? He was popular when I was a kid. He was this mixed breed dog that starred in a number of movies and TV shows. He was really well-trained and quite an expressive doggie actor.

Earlier today this movie called Benji the Hunted was playing on TV and I watched almost all of it. (I missed part of the beginning.) It originally made it to the theatres in 1987, and today I was entranced by the whole thing. Benji ran through the woods, took care of some baby cougars, almost fell off a cliff, and outlasted a wolf chasing him down. At some point, the hubby joined me. You know what he said? “I’m 34. Why don’t I understand what’s going on?” Hilarious! After I explained the plot, he continued watching the movie with me. I guess it was kind of tough since there was no dialogue and he had never heard of Benji.

What a taste of nostalgia this movie was. I remember watching Benji on TV as a kid. I loved that doggie! I always thought he was so amazing. His expressions were amazing. He also starred in For the Love of Benji and Benji Takes a Dive at Marineland. From what I remember, in the Marineland movie Benji actually went SCUBA Diving!

If you’ve never seen a Benji movie and love dogs, you should rent one sometime.

3 Responses to “For the Love of Benji”

  1. curlywurlygurly Says:

    i vaguely remember benji…but vividly recall herbie (the original!).

  2. megan Says:

    Movies with animals always make me cry. I cry when something bad happens, I cry when something good happens, and I usually find myself laughing so hard at the funny parts that I end up crying there, too. So, I try to avoid them.

  3. that girl Says:

    CWG: Ah, yes, the Love Bug. That’s all I know about that. 🙂

    megan: Does this mean you won’t be watching Marley and Me?


Leave a Reply

