Week of the Clumsy

Does this ever happen to you? Do you ever have a day, a few days, a week where all you do is run into things or drop stuff? I believe my week of the clumsy started yesterday.

I went out with a friend to enjoy dinner, a movie, and some treats at Barnes and Noble. While at B&N, I knocked one of those plastic advertisement holders from a table and loudly onto the floor. Then I somehow got chocolate syrup on my jeans. Every time I picked something up, I dropped it. After a while I just had to ask my friend to look at things for me.

Today I decided to do some house stuff that required tools and a step stool. I should have stopped myself knowing my track record, but I didn’t. At one point, I removed the battery from the drill and dropped it, denting a nice wooden piece of furniture. I banged the step stool on nearly every door frame in the house. I dropped screws multiple times but luckily I thought ahead and closed the vent on the floor. The blue ribbon moment came when I was trying to remove a nail from the wall. The angle was awkward and the nail was stubborn. After a few tries it wouldn’t budge. I tried one more time to remove the nail, and it gave up on the fight. It came flying out of the wall and the handle of the hammer hit me just above my eyebrow—hard! I’m expecting a lovely bruise from this one.

I wonder if I should wear a helmet and bubble wrap the rest of the week.

Posted in etc.. Tags: , . 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Week of the Clumsy”

  1. curlywurlygurly Says:

    a. it appears to be snowing on your blog–LOVE IT!
    b. sounds like you have a severe case of the ‘dropsies and whoopsies’. take 2 asprin and call me in the morning.

    WHERE DID YOU GET THIS SNOW!?!?!!? you are too cool for me.

  2. kristen Says:

    if you wear bubble-wrap, strangers are going to be coming up to you all the time and bustin’ your bubbles!

  3. megan Says:

    I have snow on my blog, too. Very cool feature.

    I think that a helmet and bubble wrap is like the pedestrian version of riding the short bus to school. What I usually do in these times of trouble is to avoid touching anything unless it is absolutely necessary. I also try to keep a distance of at least three feet from everything and everyone until my klutziness has passed. People don’t seem to mind since they see my “I’m having a klutzy day” button.

    Anyway, if I wore bubble wrap, it wouldn’t do me any good – I love popping that stuff! I would be without protection within minutes. If you feel it is necessary to wrap yourself with something to make a protective barrier, I would suggest packing foam.


Leave a Reply

