Presenting the Wheel-o-Straunts™

Clicking the image will open iTunes if you have it.

Clicking the image will open iTunes if you have it.

One of the latest iPhone applications being advertised is the Urbanspoon. The second I saw it, I wanted it! Basically, it’s a slot machine style application that helps you find places to eat. You know you’ve been there. You’re starving, all of your friends are ready to go out, and everyone is indecisive.

After checking into this application further, I don’t know if it will be suitable for me only because it is primarily set up for larger cities. On top of that, I have an iPod Touch and I haven’t determined if it will work on myPod. Regardless, it seems like a really fun, interactive application.

For those of you who may be in the same boat as me—loves to eat out all the time and sometimes indecisive about where to go and may not be able to use the Urbanspoon—I now present to you the Wheel-o-Straunts™. This was a little device my former co-workers and I developed when trying to decide where to have lunch.

Here is a list of ordinary office supplies you’ll need along with some visuals in case you are unsure of what I’m suggesting.

CD/DVD label applicator

CD/DVD label applicator and disc you don’t care about or the clear disc that is at the top of the spindle.

1 arrow flag. According to studies about color, red and yellow stimulate the appetite. Make an informed decision about color.

One arrow flag. According to studies about color, red and yellow stimulate the appetite. Now you can make an informed decision about color.

A fine point permanent marker. I recommend a Sharpie.

A fine point permanent marker. I recommend a Sharpie.

The first thing you need to do is prep the disc. Flip it to the side that is easiest to write on. Starting from the center opening of the disc and ending at the edge of the disc, write the name of a local restaurant. To separate each restaurant, draw a line from the center of the disc to the edge of the disc a la Wheel of Fortune. Continue doing this until you’ve filled the disc with ‘straunts™.

Let’s get building! Now that the disc is complete, put it on the label applicator with the names of the ‘straunts™ face up. Add your arrow to the center of the applicator.

Done! That’s it. Your Wheel-o-Straunts™ is complete. Get spinning so you can get eating!*

I’m hoping someone from the former workplace will send me a picture of the original Wheel-o-Straunts™ to share with you, if it still exists. 😀

*Some variations of the disc may include a larger piece of the pie for your favorites or different discs for different types of food. If your wheel takes forever to stop spinning, lower the disc fully as though you were about to use the label applicator before you spin. It will add resistance.
One Response to “Presenting the Wheel-o-Straunts™”

  1. Lisa Says:

    It is on my phone! If I can figure out how to get the picture off, I will!


Leave a Reply

