Whatsa Laptot?

Hubby and I were perusing the aisles at Target this evening. Oh, wait. I perused. He walked quickly to what he came to buy. We were actually there for a number of really random things, including Halloween candy, moisturizer, and 3-prong extension cords… but I digress.

Upon arriving in the electronics area, where hubby was spying video games and no longer speed walking, I found this tiny little laptop. It was so small that I thought it was a scaled-down model of the real thing, until I looked at the price: $299. Intrigued, I had to study it more closely.

Sorry. I had the drier set on high and the laptop shrunk.

Sorry. I had the drier set on high and the laptop shrunk. from Target.com

Though it looked like a portable DVD player with a keyboard, it’s actually a miniature laptop or a “laptot,” as this article about purchasing one says. Cute, huh? 🙂 This particular model from Target is from ASUS and I have no idea what that means! But it does a lot of what a normal laptop would do. It has wi-fi capabilities, 3 USB connectors, office work type of software capabilities, and some other stuff. I thought it would be nice to take it to Europe next summer for school so that I don’t have to lug my heavy MacBook. Sure, I would miss having Photoshop, but I wonder if I would miss anything else?

What do you guys think? Have you seen one? Would you buy it? (Am I behind the times and everyone knows about these things but me??)

2 Responses to “Whatsa Laptot?”

  1. curlywurlygurly Says:

    that is SOOOO cute! i love teeny things or oversized things! (this weekend i bought a set of ipod speakers that are ‘oversized i-buds’ from urban outfitters!)

    i have heard about laptops for kids…but haven’t seen any. i hope you buy it and tell me all about it.


Leave a Reply

