Pig Pickin’

A friend invited me to go to a Pig Pickin’. Yup. I didn’t ask too many questions about what this was exactly, I just agreed to go and figured whatever happens… happens. Every once in a while, you just need to try something different and not worry about it, so that’s what I did.

Turns out that it was a gathering of a bunch of folks down by a creek at a farm in a remote mountain area. There was a really long picnic table with tons of food and some “whole pork” had been cooking since 4:00 that morning. Our hosts offered hay rides around the property along with a scavenger hunt and other games for kids.

I have to say, this was one of the more relaxing activities I’ve done in a while and I’m glad I went. I ended up running into someone I knew and meeting some really interesting folks on the hayride. If you ever get invited to a Pig Pickin’, you should go. See what it’s like. 🙂

The view from our hosts home.
The view from our hosts’ home.

My seat on the hayride
My seat on the hayride
One of the sights on the hayride tour.
One of the “sights” on the hayride tour.

Leave a Reply

