I Smoked When I was a Kid

During my travels this past weekend, I visited a very charming downtown area. One of the stops I made was to a candy store. It had taffy that you could bag yourself, sweet treats behind the glass counter, and a number of other goodies.

As I roamed around, I found something utterly hilarious: Candy Cigarettes! I couldn’t believe these were still out there! How scandalous! I couldn’t resist buying them.

You probably won't get detention for smoking these, but they aren't all that tasty.

You probably wouldn't get detention for smoking these in the boys' room.

Do you remember these from your childhood?

I particularly remember the ones that were made from gum and were wrapped in white paper. You could put the cigarette in your mouth and blow out fake smoke that was made from some kind of white powder.

Then there were the ones that were made of some kind of white chalky substance and the tip was a pinkish color. To me, those ciggies were not as cool as the gum ones, but this candy store did not have the gum ones. So I went ahead and bought the chalk ones…. I took a bite out of one of them. They are yucky and taste like Pepto Bismol.

And did you know that there are actually ones made from “chocolate?” (After “smoking” one, I don’t they are legitimate chocolate.) Yeah, who knew? I bought 2 packs of those. I think if these were around when I was a kid, I could have become addicted to smoking chocolate.

3 Responses to “I Smoked When I was a Kid”

  1. Stephanie of Stopbouncing Says:

    Holy crap, a REAL candy shop?!?!
    I’ve only seen one in Toronto and that was years ago…

    I too “smoked” candy, they were one of my favorite candies. I’ll take the “chaulky” ones though, that gum reminded me of Bazooka Joe, which I do recall, would break your teeth.

    did they have the big bubble gum cigars too?

  2. megan Says:

    There was a family-owned bakery about half a mile down the road from the house in which I grew up. I never remember seeing a fully-stacked display case; the pastries and cookies within looked like they had been there for months.

    However, the lack of freshly-baked baked goods in this bakery had to effect on our desire to go there as often as we could, because they had a large set of shelves that spanned a whole wall, filled with candy of all kinds. Not only did they carry the more mainstream candy, like Snickers or M&Ms, but they also had more obscure items like candy cigarettes. Both kinds were featured, bubble gum and pressed chalk alike.

    My mother forbade us from purchasing candy cigarettes; I’m sure it was because she thought they would create a burning desire for the real thing when we got older. Therefore, we would buy both a pack of candy cigarettes and something else (perhaps a bag of Skittles), take our time walking home to scarf down all the candy cigarettes, then proudly show our parents the “backup” candy.

    I actually liked the taste of the pressed chalk candies better than the stale gum, but I definitely saw the appeal of blowing out the dried sugary substance from beneath the paper wrapper.

  3. Annie Says:

    I LOVED those gum cigarettes. I used to walk to the Woolworth’s (gosh, does anyone even have those anymore?) and then go down to a little stream in our neighborhood and ‘smoke’. I thought I was soooooo cool. I must have looked like such an idiot. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

