Keep Your Cooties to Yourself!

(Yes, I know. I probably used Cooties incorrectly, but it’s way more fun to say than “germs.”)

The funk is here. Every other person I come in contact with is sniffling and has some kind of sinus issue. Word is that it’s an upper respiratory sinus infection. I warned my “kids” not to come close to me if they feel the slightest bit sickly. I also told them not to breathe on me but what did one of them do yesterday? He stood right next to me and proceeded to have a conversation with me about how he feels tired all the time! Gee, could it be because you are sick?! grrrrr. Dang close talkers!!

Last night and this evening I took Airborne because I could feel an irritation in my throat. I don’t know if this stuff works or not, but my friend takes it and it works for her, so I gave it a try. I also had a few Halls Defense Vitamin C lozenges. Hopefully, I’m not too late. I’m starting to sneeze and have found myself clearing my throat. Lovely. Just freaking lovely. I’m taking a flight to Nebraska Friday morning and the last thing I need is to be sickly on a plane!

4 Responses to “Keep Your Cooties to Yourself!”

  1. Melanie Says:

    I hate that feeling when you know it is coming on.. and you know it is coming from all those lovely people you had contact with! Not breathing on you is good but also ask them to cough and sneeze into their elbow/sleeve. It is what the medical community suggests. Google “cough into your elbow” Eye opening experience. Spread the word on doing it in your sleeve – not your hands. Hands are the worst!!

  2. curlywurlygurly Says:

    not to burst your bubble…but new york magazine did an article on cold rememdies and found that airborne pretty much did nothing. 🙂

    check our their webpage, maybe you can find the article and a rememdy that will actually make you feel better! 🙂

  3. Annie Says:

    I’ve tried Zicam, and I think it’s a bunch of hooey. 🙂

    The best remedy I found when I was teaching was to institute this policy: “If you get me sick, you automatically fail the course”

    I was dead serious too. One year I got strep from one girl that not only came to class, but then came up to talk to me about how sick she was with strep. Idiot.

  4. that girl Says:

    Melanie – I never cough in my hands and I hate it when parents tell their children to cover their mouths but don’t say to use their arms. Germs! Germs! Germs!

    CWG – I know. I’ve heard that about Airborne. It’s basically a gigantic vitamin more than anything else. The good news is, I’ve been feeling fine.

    Annie – Zycam is gross. I bought that last year when I was sick for 2 weeks, then better, and then sick for another 2 weeks. On the package it looked like a lozenge when in reality it was chalky and quite, quite nasty. I hated it!… I’d like to implement a policy like that, too.


Leave a Reply

