Who’s Responsible for This?!

Dread. Angst. Misery. I’ve been sold. I don’t know who did it, and I don’t appreciate it one bit. I’d write them a nasty letter, if I knew who they were.

Somehow my address at work has ended up in the wrong hands. Now I’m getting junk mail, times two. For whatever reason, whoever had my info in the first place has my screwed up my name. It’s saved in some mystery database the correct way but it’s also in there incorrectly. So now on top of getting more junk mail in general, I get multiple copies of it. Thus far I have three junk mail pieces in twin form and I’m sure the count will go up from there.

This happened to me at my previous job but worse. On top of multiple copies of junk, my mail would sometimes be addressed to “Mr.” Umm… what? Somewhere along the way, my name also ended up misspelled or even backwards. To add insult to injury, these errors would sometimes arrive in combination, as in Mr. Misspelled Name, Misspelled Name, Backwards Name, and Mr. Correct Name. I can’t imagine how many trees must have been killed because of these multiple junk-mailings.

What I don’t understand is how this happens. Who has sold me? And how does the information get so messed up? Do people manually enter this information into the aforementioned mystery database and make these mistakes? Where’s the quality control?

Perhaps the biggest question of all: How do I remove myself from these lists?

I wonder if our TV Guide will eventually be addressed to Miss Chanandler Bong.

One Response to “Who’s Responsible for This?!”

  1. curlywurlygurly Says:

    ha…we too are victims of this. somehow, someone created a ‘frankenbaby’ for us–the name is my maiden name+ married name (ie. Mr. Smith Williams) it’s HIGHLY annoying.


Leave a Reply

