The Streak

I have a long streak of not eating at Hardee’s. It’s been years. So long, in fact, that I can only guess that it’s been 10-15 years. Part of the streak is the result of the few choices we had at the student center, where I spent the majority of my junior and senior years in college. Ever since then, I’ve avoided the place. It’s also attributed to how gluttonous their commercials are. Seriously, they are gross and they seem to cater to those who enjoy being sloppy or over zealous in their eating habits. I, for one, am not that person.

Anyway, I came home my usual Monday time of 8:30pm and I was starving. I was going to eat some leftover pasta that I made last night but the hubby diverted my attention to a free burger on the counter. It was from Hardee’s. At first, I didn’t know what to do. I debated eating the fresh, warm burger and breaking my streak versus eating the pasta from the night before that I was looking forward to eating for dinner as I drove home. Dare I eat this sloppy burger after all these years? Or should I stick to the decade-long streak? What to do. What to do.

What do you think? Did I do it?

This reminds me of a Seinfeld episode. Jerry had an impressive no-vomiting streak.

[setting: Elaine’s office and Jerry’s apartment]

(Elaine’s on the phone with Jerry)

JERRY: No, eight years isn’t such a long streak.

ELAINE: It isn’t?

JERRY: No, I haven’t vomited in thirteen years.

ELAINE: Get out!

JERRY: Not since June 29, 1980.

ELAINE: You remember the date?

JERRY: Yes, because my previous vomit was also June 29th… 1972. That’s why during the ’80 vomit, I was yelling to George: “Can you believe it? I’m vomiting on June 29th again.”

4 Responses to “The Streak”

  1. Annie Says:

    I think you did it. I would have. I would have gone with the reasoning of “Since I didn’t buy it, it’s technically not my money funding the company.”

    I used to love Hardee’s burgers. Then I just gave up on all fast food and quit going. I realized that the burgers I made at home were way better.

    Not to say I’ll never eat one again…

  2. curlywurlygurly Says:

    um..i don’t think i’ve ever eaten at hardees. it sounds frightening, truth be told.

    i don’t really eat any fast food restaurants because their food scars me…but i did try an in-and-out burger while on vacation in san francisco in 2007…it was peer pressure–husbandito made me do it.

  3. Lisa Says:

    I would say no because you are not a glutton.

  4. that girl Says:

    I ate it. I can’t believe I did, but I ate the whole thing. 😦


Leave a Reply

