Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow?

Some people get a shorter hair cut as the summer months approach. Not me. Every summer I grow my hair a little longer so that I can put it up in a pony tail. Then as summer ends and returning to work approaches… CHOP. I get a haircut.

This year, things are a little different. I started growing my hair out earlier than usual. And when I went to my hair gal, Renee, and asked her for just a trim, she was a little surprised. Usually, I have her give me some ideas for what to do with my hair. I’ve been game for everything she’s suggested in the past!

What’s the deal this time? I’ve decided to continuing growing my hair so that I can donate it. I figure, I’m lucky enough to be able to grow my hair out easily and it’s in really good condition, so why not? It will grow back.

So far, I’ve got about 7-8 inches and intend on growing it a lot more since I’m starting to get attached to longer hair and don’t want a shorter hair after the cut. I was going to go with Locks of Love until I did a little research and found that there are other charities out there that will take shorter lengths.

If you’re interested in doing this, be sure you figure out your charity first, learn who benefits from your effort, and know the rules for donating. Some folks don’t know the rules and they waste their effort.

Here are some links:

4 Responses to “Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow?”

  1. cally Says:

    Great job in wanting to donate your hair. Actually many people have been shying away from Locks of Love with the negative publicity the company got but it is good to know of other options. For people wanting more information on these programs this site has more http://www.latest-hairstyles.com/articles/donate-hair.html

  2. Annie Says:

    This is so cool. I’m growing my hair out now for weddings next year and the updo’s I know I’ll want, and I’ve thought a lot about donating my hair when all is said and done. I’m going to check out these sites to figure out what I can do!!

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Our teen daughter has donated 4 times, and our younger daughter just once so far. If anyone knows of these salons that will accept shorter lengths, we would donate more often. I have naturally curly hair, so I am growing mine longer than required so it won’t bounce up so drastically when I donate mine. Great clips will complete the cut for free, but I am not sure what other salons will do this. Because of my “challenging” hair type. I would like to know if there are any other salons that have the same or similar hair donation program, but perhaps a salon with a bit more experienced personnel with natural curly hair? Any advice on this subject is very much appreciated.

  4. Sophie Says:

    I love your idea of donating hair


Leave a Reply

