It’s Called an Umbrella. Get one. Use it.

Comedian Jim Gaffigan has this bit where he talks about umbrellas and how there are really only a few umbrellas in the world and they just get passed around like batons at a track meet. The most unfortunate soul on the planet gets stuck with “the red one.”

Today it’s raining and that leads me to wonder why people are walking (not even running) around without umbrellas. I’ve encountered at least 2 young men who were soaking wet coming into the building. Why is that? I personally cannot stand walking around in wet clothes. I don’t like water park rides that douse you with buckets up buckets of water for that very reason.

This morning, I even walked from my car to my office with my pants rolled up so that the bottoms would not absorb water as I trudged through the rain. Sure, I looked ridiculous, but at least my pants were relatively dry when I got to work.

So I don’t get it. Who are these people? Why are they just wearing a hooded sweatshirt? Doesn’t that just absorb more water? Can you just not afford an umbrella? Should we start a foundation for people who need umbrellas? Have you lost yours?

It’s been raining since early this morning, so it’s not like you didn’t know it was going to rain…. Is Jim right? Are umbrellas just passed around? Did the red one get passed to you?

3 Responses to “It’s Called an Umbrella. Get one. Use it.”

  1. kristen Says:

    my goofball husband mowed the yard today in the rain. and it wasn’t like it was a light misty type of rain…oh no…it was buckets full of rain.

    as if our neighbors didn’t think we were weird enough… 🙂

  2. Katherine Says:

    So maybe umbrellas are like fruit cakes? They get passed around but nobody knows what to do with them?


Leave a Reply

