The Comfy Chair

The Comfy Chair on its day of purchase

Oh… it feels good to sit down and relax. I’m in my office hanging around until the traffic has subsided, and I’m enjoying the best purchase for my office, my lovely chair and a half, aka a snuggler.

The Comfy Chair was purchased as a reward to myself for surviving the first few months of a major career change. I found it at a furniture warehouse after I had been in search of a non-family-room-looking recliner. Yeah, can you believe I actually thought I would be able to rest in my office? I came home with this after I discovered that said recliners were pricey!

When people first saw it, they thought that work bought it for me. “Wow! Nice chair,” they would say. “How did you get that?” they would ask while using that tone. The one of “Why do you have this and I don’t? I didn’t get a chair like this in my office?” I would reply with, “I bought it and my husband and I carried it in.”

Anyway, I highly recommend such a purchase to anyone who has a need for seating in their office and has the space. You can actually lay on it like a real couch. Despite my height, my body fits quite well. My head is on an arm rest, my body is in the seat area, and my legs are draped over the other arm rest. I’m comfy. Good job, chair!

Also, though the moments I get to sit in it tend to be few and far between, it’s great for guests, especially those that may be there to visit you for a not-so-good reason. It’s a mediator. It eases tension and it makes you comfortable to be there.

My office neighbor now has a small couch in his office that he got from surplus. Further down the hall, there is a Pappasan chair. On the other hall, someone else has small couch from her apartment. And one of the new folks also has a Pappasan. Hmmm. I think I’ve started a trend.

2 Responses to “The Comfy Chair”

  1. curlywurlygurly Says:

    that chair is in your office? lol. i have the most utilitarian chairs in mine–to prevent people and students from lingering. 🙂

  2. that girl Says:

    Two utilitarian chairs are still in my office. I can slide them closer to my desk for more official business. Strangely enough, most people don’t sit in the comfy chair until I encourage them to do so. Who knows. Maybe it’s intimidating.


Leave a Reply

