Spinning Some Tunes

Tiffany gets a spin on the record player.

Tiffany gets a spin on the record player.

Put the needle on the record!

It’s here. It’s here! My lovely Emerson Big-Little Portable Phono obtained from Mom and Dad’s is in the house along with a few 45’s.

Oh, nostalgia.

The first thing I did was play Name that Tune with the hubby. Song number 1 was All Night Long by Lionel Richie. He couldn’t identify it easily and when he figured out what it was, you know what he said? “That sounds like crap.” My response? “It’s not a CD. It’s a 45 on a kid’s record player that’s probably 25 years old!” Silly husband.

I spun a few more tunes, including the obscure Anne Murray’s You Needed Me and the delightful I Think We’re Alone Now by the queen of mall tours, Tiffany.

Next up on the playlist is my recently purchased John Mayer Continuum LP. A vinyl 33 and the main reason for getting my hands back on my little phono. I can’t wait!

I’m taking requests. What would you like to hear?

8 Responses to “Spinning Some Tunes”

  1. kristen Says:

    well if you play Tiffany, don’t you have to play Debbie Gibson or old New Kids??? Personally, my choice would be Michael Jackson’s “Thriller”. That was the very first album I owned. Luckily, my taste have changed greatly… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. that girl Says:

    If only I had DG or NKOTB on a record. That would be great!

    I thought of Thriller after I received my bag of stuff and there were no LPs inside. Thriller is timeless but Michael Jackson is not.

  3. curlywurlygurly Says:

    my first 45 was ‘every breath you take’ by the police. my first album was ‘business as usual’ by men at work. i’m dating myself here, aren’t i ?

  4. that girl Says:

    I’m just as “dated” as you are. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I wish I could remember my first 45. They were mostly my parents’ records. It might have been “Spies Like Us” by Paul McCartney, since it’s in the stack I have.

  5. Jenn Patel Says:

    I have a portable one just like that! I love it!! Mine actually has a little disco lights display too. Kids today don’t know what they’re missing, I mean you can’t play a CD on faster or slower speed to hear what a song would sound like if the chipmunks sang it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. that girl Says:

    That is so funny you said that. I like flipping the settings, too, for the chipmunk effect.

  7. Tanya Says:

    Hey I have the exact same record player from when I was a kid but it doesn’t have a needle and its very hard to find one could you tell me what “size” it is? My kids are driving me crazy to play it!


Leave a Reply

