I Like Pop Music

Years ago, I had a conversation with an intern about music. He asked me what I liked and I sort of shied away from the question because in the past I’ve always had to defend the music I like. This was particularly true in high school and college. I would be ridiculed when I appeared to be “uncool” and, quite frankly, I hated it. I never understood why I had to defend what made me so happy.

Dare I appear as tragically unhip to my intern? I eventually answered his question by saying that I like pop and Top 40. He then asked me what it was about the music that I liked, and I said that I like the fact that I get introduced to such a variety of music. It’s not just one thing like all country or R&B. It’s a mix of everything. Then I asked him what he liked. And he said, “You probably won’t believe me when I say this, but metal…. Really heavy metal…. Death metal.” I asked him what that meant exactly and he explained it to me.

Then he asked me who my favorite artist was. Again, I wasn’t sure about the possible scorn I would receive, so I meekly said, “At the moment, John Mayer.” He said, “I like him! He’s an awesome guitarist.” I gushed with happiness, thrilled that even someone with very different tastes from my own could still appreciate them. From that point on, we were no longer boss and intern, we were friends.

I admit that to this day I still struggle with defending my musical taste because there are still mean people out there that pass judgment upon me, and I still feel the need to preface the music I talk about with, “I know this is lame, silly, goofy….” But I know I’m not alone out there because I read blogs all the time that use such wording and bloggers call certain artists their “guilty pleasures.”

It’s time, fellow prefacing bloggers, to be who we are. I’ve decided that today’s post will be my first step to embracing what I enjoy musically. I will not feel bad about or defend what I say.

  • John Mayer is my favorite, and I like Your Body is a Wonderland.
  • I’m going to see the American Idols in concert later this month. David Cook rocks my socks!
  • I have seen Clay Aiken in concert and it was a really good time.
  • I saw New Kids on the Block in concert when I was in high school and wish I could see them on their current tour.
  • I wish I could have seen NSYNC in concert at some point.
  • I want to go to Las Vegas and see Barry Manilow or Tom Jones perform.
  • One song that always makes me happy is Jive Talkin’ by the Bee Gees.
  • Another one is You Never Even Called Me by My Name by David Allan Coe and I sing it at the top of my lungs when I play it on my iPod.
  • I love singing to Lynyrd Skynyrd songs

.

Well, that was refreshing! I feel good now. 🙂

4 Responses to “I Like Pop Music”

  1. kristen Says:

    Embrace your inner music nerd!! 🙂 I am not ashamed to admit that I squeal like a little girl when I attend Bon Jovi concerts. My husband thinks we got Sirius 4yrs ago in preperation for Howard Stern…but oh no! We got it because they have a HAIR NATION station that, to quote you, “rocks my socks!” 🙂

  2. curlywurlygurly Says:

    don’t worry…we’ll still luv ya even if your musical tastes lean precariously toward pop music.

  3. scared of revolving doors Says:

    I share 2 points in your list:

    1. Well you know about Mayer, and yes I get all giddy whenever I hear YBIAW.
    2. I saw NKOTB live when I was in high school, and yes, I wish I could go to their concerts this year.

    NSYNC? I have to admit that I like “Drive Myself Crazy”, but I think I’d rather go see just Justin Timberlake.

    Here’s one musical confession: I love “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” by Elton John and Kiki Dee.

  4. that girl Says:

    Kristen: I love Bon Jovi! You should see me rock out in the car when he comes on the radio.

    CWG: thank you for accepting me. 🙂

    SORD: I saw Justin in concert last year. It was to make up for never seeing NSYNC. We were in nose-bleed seats because his ticket prices are crazy high!

    This is yet another great thing about John Mayer. His prices are not as much as other shows I’ve attended.


Leave a Reply

