Holey Potato Chips, Batman!

I wanted to show you the chip... and how blue the skies were today.

I wanted to show you the chip... and how blue the skies were today.

I was having an afternoon snack of yummy sour cream and onion potato chips when I almost chomped down on today’s blog topic: a potato chip with a hole in the middle of it.

Rather than consume it, I came up with an idea and ran outside with it and the digital and snapped the shot you see to the right.

It is likely that you have not thought twice about a potato chip that has a hole in it. Who knows, you may have never consumed, noticed, or seen one in your life. Regardless, I’m going to share with you the reason why a chip would have a hole in it.

It’s information I’ve carried with me for about the past 15 years when I first learned about this in a statistics class for Liberal Arts students, which I affectionately dubbed “Potato Math.”

During one of the classes, we were learning about random sampling and our introduction to this was a video about potato and potato chips!

Did you know that people who are responsible for buying potatoes in mass for potato chip manufacturers buy them by the truckload? As in, 18-wheeler? Yeah, that’s a lot of potatoes. The concern when buying these truckloads of tubers is that there might be some bad or greenish ones in the lot. So, to ensure that they are getting a decent lot, the potato people do a random sampling of the tubers in the truck. They find a potato and stab it with a pipe-like device. Once they remove the device, they can see if the potato is to their liking.

They do this multiple times to get a good sample of what is being offered. Once they agree to buy the potatoes, all of the potatoes are brought to the potato chip place, and even the ones that have been sampled are used to make the delicious snack.

So that’s why sometimes you’ll get a chip with a hole in it. If you look at the picture I took, you’ll see how the chip is darker where the hole is. In order for that to happen, the hole has to be made before the chip is fried. It’s not breakage from transport or otherwise because you can’t easily put a hole in a chip after it’s fried. Go ahead, try it. Let me know if it works.

End of lesson. Share the random bit of knowledge you’ve gained with the world. 😀

3 Responses to “Holey Potato Chips, Batman!”

  1. curlywurlygurly Says:

    i NEVER knew that! thank you so much for that random bit of information. i will impart it on some unwitting party the minute i come across a potato with a hole in it. 😀

  2. Anna Says:

    Potato Math. I love it!

    Now that you mention it, I may have seen a hole in a chip before. I don’t think I even stopped to wonder about it.

    Fun post.

  3. Katherine Says:

    Hmmmmmmm, blogs are full of information you never thought about! I love the picture.


Leave a Reply

