Could They Not “Make it Work”? (Revised)

Terris more appropriate design.

Terri's more appropriate design.

I’m no longer confused. I could have sworn that on Project Runway they said that the winning design would be worn by the women on the US Olympic team. Um, no. I misunderstood.

A couple of comments to make here. First, while the design that won was decent, I think it was not fitting for the Olympics. It wasn’t exactly friendly for all figures. Not everyone looks like a slender track athlete. I think the design by Terri was more appropriate. And Tim Gunn agrees with me!

The winning design, from Bravotv.com

The winning design, from Bravotv.com

Second, why didn’t the women wear the outfit that was designed? I’ve been sitting here for hours waiting for Team USA and looky, looky, the women are wearing the same thing as the men! Navy blazers, white shirts, red neck ties, and white pants. According to Matt Lauer and Bob Costas, their outfits were designed by Ralph Lauren.

Hmm. What happened? Jeez. That is either a slap in the face or a poor editing choice. Save some face, Project Runway. If you knew about this, you should have edited that information out of the show.

3 Responses to “Could They Not “Make it Work”? (Revised)”

  1. Abby Says:

    I didn’t think they were going to actually wear it. It was more like .. “If you were a famous designer like Ralph Lauren and they asked you to design it, what would you come up with?” You know, like a hypothetical situation.

  2. curlywurlygurly Says:

    i must find pictures of these outfits. i haven’t seen anything–no tv over here at the ‘amish beach house.’

  3. that girl Says:

    Ohhhhhhh! You know, I heard Tim Gunn mention Ralph Lauren and that confused me, too. Part of my confusion was because of how in past seasons some designs that are created are actually worn. Now I get it.

    Man, I’m lame. Post revised.


Leave a Reply

