Can You Hear Me Now?

Lately I had had concerns about my hearing. I wasn’t sure if it was going down hill or not but something seemed to change though I couldn’t make the connection between facts to figure out what was happening.

Exhibit A: I keep ear plugs in my purse and I’m not afraid to use them. I play in a band and I wear earplugs when we play in enclosed areas or when I’m too close to the drummer. I started doing this when my ears would hurt after practice. I wear them when I go to the movies. I don’t know what the deal is these days, but dang, movies are LOUD, even comedies are too much for me to take. I go to concerts and when I’m up close, nosebleed, or otherwise, I wear them.

Exhibit B: I have the radio on at all times when I’m in the car. It’s not bass-thumping loud because I’m not obnoxious that way, but my engine can be loud at times, so I do have to turn it up from time-to-time.

Exhibit C: I use an iPod some weeks more frequently than others and I wear buds. If you look at the volume line on the iPod, mine is usually somewhere to the left of center. Divide the line into 5ths and I’m at the first 5th, max.

Exhibit D: Sometimes I can’t hear someone across a quiet room. Sometimes I can’t hear my friends when we sit together at a table in a restaurant.

So yesterday I went to get my hearing tested. It turns out, I do have a problem. It’s called OTHER PEOPLE. That’s right, you, other people are to blame for my “hearing” loss. While my ability to listen is still up in the air, my hearing is perfectly normal.

The doctor tested both of my ears and all is well. He told me that a lot of times later in the day, people find it harder to hear because whomever they are talking to does not put as much effort into speaking (probably because of being tired from work), speak more softly, and is likely not looking directly at the person when talking. How ’bout that?

It’s not me. It’s you.

3 Responses to “Can You Hear Me Now?”

  1. curlywurlygurly Says:

    what? i can’t hear you.

  2. that girl Says:

    If that’s a joke, you tell them like my hubby does. 😀

  3. Lisa Says:

    Funny you should post this. I was thinking of getting my hearing checked too.

    Maybe we can get together for lunch and yet at each other.


Leave a Reply

