Bee Buzz

The bee count is up. I think I’ve seen a total of 8 bees in the house. Half of them have been dead and I feel bad for the little guys (or gals, pannonica). They come into the house, bang themselves silly against the window, and end up dead on the window sill or in the kitchen sink.

Yesterday I found one hiding by the sponge on the sink. It looked like it was already dead, but I could swear that the back end of its body was wiggling ever so slightly. It was quite curious looking because its body appeared slightly segmented in an unnatural way, but I know I saw it moving. I was going to record it with the camera so that I could study it more, then set it free but it stopped moving after a few more wiggles.

What a way to go. Is it shock, trauma, frustration, confusion? I wonder what exactly kills them.

If I were a bee, I’m sure I’d be entirely confused about why I can see the great outdoors but there is a forcefield preventing me from getting there. I don’t think I would be so distraught that I would just die but who knows.

So far, I’ve been able to rescue the ones that have been alive, which is quite a feat for me because I’m a little scared of bees. This afternoon I heard a little buzzing by the back door and saw the little gal hitting the glass. I opened the door and out she went. That makes me wonder about the possibility of this being a bee that has been in the house before.

I told the hubby about the bee count for the day. His reply? “Well, that’s going to happen sometimes.”

*sigh*

4 Responses to “Bee Buzz”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Neil used to put a jar with sugar water in it to catch the bees at our old house. It worked, but you end up with a bunch of dead bees in a jar.

  2. Katherine Says:

    Well I found your blog by accident. I saw a comment you left on another blog that was talking about people that visit but don’t leave comments. I think that there is only one person on the face of the earth that has looked at my blog and she did leave a comment (bless her heart). So here is the crazy path I took to find you. Was reading PW bashing on Poop on Peeps, clicked on a link that took me to Blogs About: The Pioneer Woman, then clicked another link ended up at Curlywurlygurly’s Weblog and found your comment with a link. So here I am. Have not read everything but looking forward to it! Take care!

  3. Katherine Says:

    Oh! Do you mind if I link you to my blog?

  4. that girl Says:

    Sure. Link away. And thanks for making your presence known.

    That was quite a journey you took to get here… kind of like a bee that has accidentally gotten into my house and is trying to get out again, except you left unscathed. 🙂


Leave a Reply

