John Mayer and the Legend of Panama

John MayerThe John Mayer concert I just went to was, simply put, great. It went by too quickly, but, man, it was a good time. Then again, from the 3rd row, how could it not be?

I’ve seen him in concert a handful of times and he’s always put on a good show, but this time around, he was just giddy. I went to a show a few years ago where he didn’t really talk to the audience as much as I had come to expect and I left feeling disappointed. (It probably didn’t help that Continuum hadn’t been released yet and he was performing songs from that album, but I digress.)

That was not the case this time. I did not leave disappointed. He was so chatty, which is part of what I really enjoy about his performances. Not only that, he played a great variety of songs. Take a look. So many fabulous covers, too!

John Mayer

Set List

  • Vultures
  • Waiting on the World to Change
  • I Don’t Trust Myself (With Loving You)
  • Slow Dancing in a Burning Room
  • Bigger Than My Body
  • Crossroads (Eric Clapton)
  • Mercy (Duffy)
  • No Such Thing into Why Georgia
  • Free Falling (Tom Petty)
  • Belief
  • Say

Encore

  • Who Did You Think I Was
  • Panama (Van Halen)
  • Gravity

The big chatter from the concert is the encore of Van Halen’s Panama. Why? Well, Johnny introduced this song by saying, “Let me preface this song by saying this is really going to be a special treat we’re going to try out….” With this statement, I was excited and ready for something. What, I don’t know. He continues to say something that I didn’t catch, but it ended with, “…I take my shirt off and just play guitar,” followed by shrieks from the audience.

Yes, friends, he took off his shirt and began to rock out like Eddie Van Halen. While the shirtless aspect of the performance was stellar, I suppose now is a good time to tell you how much I like those classic ’80s rock songs, so when I heard the opening of Panama, I woo-hooed and yelped with the best of them. I snapped a few photos then I started rocking out with the band, jumping up and down, pumping my fist in the air, and singing at the top of my lungs. Probably hard to imagine me doing that, but I have my moments. David Ryan Harris, who normally acts as a guitarist in John’s band, took the stage like David Lee Roth and did an excellent job!

They jammed. And it was beyond stupendous!

Check out that tattoo! He looks really pale in this photo, but it’s quite a misrepresentation of his skin tone. He actually sports a nice tan. I don’t want to gush like a fan girl, so it’s time to end the recap from me.

OK, one bitty gush, or “getting glittery” as they say. I’m pretty sure we had eye contact for a solid 20-seconds, though the girl in front of me would have you believe he was looking at her. haha!

Here are some notes from John himself via his website:
I’m beginning to see my time on stage like I do a workout; it wasn’t any good unless I walk away beat up, sweating and panting. This afternoon I had the idea to fulfill my dream of playing guitar in a rock band, and what better lead singer to get than David Ryan Harris. We covered PANAMA by VAN HALEN and I had a blast focusing entirely on playing guitar while someone else held it all down… We’re gonna keep the surprises coming. It’s too fun.

2 Responses to “John Mayer and the Legend of Panama

  1. scared of revolving doors Says:

    when i listened to the concert tape, i couldn’t help but bop my head a la’ david lee roth.

    great show! can’t believe the concerts are getting better by the day!

  2. that girl Says:

    I just loved the amount of energy he had for this show and Panama specifically. He was like a kid jumping on his bed playing air guitar!


Leave a Reply

