Alphabet Soup

Where’s my decoder ring? Does anyone have a decoder ring?! *sigh*

Is it me or are people going crazy using abbreviations? At work, there are so many departments and initiatives out there someone felt the need to abbreviate them. The slew of “things” that have been shortened into acronyms is so plentiful that I don’t know what people are talking about half the time. I hear a word and it doesn’t sound like a word from any of the languages I understand. It’s beyond a foreign language—and it’s annoying.

Everywhere I go on the web, I keep seeing capital letters that indicate something. What do they mean? Well, IDK. (ha! Sorry. That one is from that phone company.) Really, though, I usually can figure things out but sometimes, I just don’t know what these things mean. Not only that, it slows down the reading process. It’s like having commas in the wrong place or not using punctuation at all.

I suppose this practice of abbreviation stems partially from text messaging (which I think can be pretty lame sometimes) where it’s so much more efficient to abbreviate than push buttons to make entire words (or make a phone call). But when it comes to the web, is it that much harder to type an entire word if you have a keyboard at your fingertips? I think not, my friends. Are we that lazy or do we just not care?

So! From now on, I’m going to make a concerted effort of not using alphabet soup on my blog. If you scour my pages you’ll see that I’ve used abbreviations in the past, but I’m just not going to do it anymore. It’s just too dang confusing if you haven’t been exposed to said abbreviation in a previous life.

2 Responses to “Alphabet Soup”

  1. megan Says:

    I fully support your ambition to use complete words in your writing. Excessive abbreviations and acronyms irritate me to no end. Sure, I realize that “AIDS” is much easier to say than “Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome” – that is a perfectly acceptable acronym. But come on – is it really too much trouble to spell out “you are”? Is “U R” *really* that much easier?

    Keep up your crusade, friend. The grammatically correct world needs people like you.

  2. that girl Says:

    Thank you for your support.

    Yes, some things just need to be abbreviated and are well known by everyone but ugh. The U R thing really bugs me. Sometimes people use it as “your” also. It’s comparable to using the wrong form of too/two/to or their/there/they’re.


Leave a Reply

