Rock Band Wannabe

Last year for Christmas I was asked what I wanted. I usually don’t request anything because I typically don’t need anything. If I need it, I go ahead and get it. If I want it, I think twice about getting it and sometimes live without whatever “it” is. So, I thought I’d try to think of something different and fun, not to mention, easy to get a hold of in one fell swoop. (There’s a lot more to this story regarding financial stuff and mobility, but that’s not the purpose of this particular post.)

Anyway, I decided to ask for the video game package Rock Band. Then that little voice in the back of my head made me think twice. “Will I really play with this thing? It’s pricey for something that I might not use much.” So instead, I took back my initial request and asked for a small rolling suitcase that could hold my clothes and my laptop. It, by the way, is awesome.

Flash forward to yesterday evening. We were at Best Buy and I noticed that the Rock Band console was unoccupied. I had actually never played it before, which is odd considering that I asked for it as a gift, so I gave it a whirl. Since I’m a drummer of sorts, I started with the drum set… and never left it for the guitar. 😀 I didn’t do very well, but dang, it was fun.

I played along with Bon Jovi’s Wanted Dead or Alive. Loved it! Then I tried Creep by Radiohead and almost got booed off the stage. Hilarious! Then I tried the Clash’s Should I Stay or Should I Go.

I never was much of a video game aficionado, unless you count Tetris or Sim City. I think part of this is because most of the things we have in the house are sports-oriented, but this idea of something being musically based gets me all sorts of interested. So now, yes, I’m thinking I want to be in the Band. I want to Rock! I’m ready to Rock!

One Response to “Rock Band Wannabe”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Awesome!

    I played Guitar Hero at the beach and I saw Rock Band played at a convention. LOVED IT!

    I wanna come over and play bass sometime!


Leave a Reply

