Swimsuit Shopping Update

Vacation is right around the corner, so I went hunting for a new swimsuit today. I started at a couple of the department stores in the mall and wanted to scream. Some of these things are dang fugly. Who puts rope on a bathing suit? Then I headed for Dicks Sporting Goods, where I knew I should have gone first. I found some separates that I liked and bonus(!) they were on sale. In fact, I think all of their suits are on sale right now, so get out there if you are looking. So I bought them as a Plan B in case my online order doesn’t work out. What can I say? I like to be prepared.

Here are some new things I discovered today.

  • Nike suits are snug. I usually bring more than one size with me to the fitting room so that I don’t have to keep running back and forth. I tried on the bigger of the two sizes first and it was a tight fit.
  • Beware of tops that tie in the back. Depending on the tie, it can be uncomfortable to lean back on one of these big knots on the back of your suit. I actually bought one of these today, but I like going in the water more than I like laying there in the sun for hours on end.
  • A patterned top and a black bottom sometimes looks really, really weird together. All black is not the best either. Perhaps up against the paleness, there is too much contrast. I don’t know.

I purchased a Lolë swimsuit yesterday online and it’s here already! The package was actually sitting on the porch when I got home! So, this 2-piece is super cute. I really like the top and it fits well. The bottom, however, is a little snug. I haven’t decided if I will keep it or not. It’s one of those things where I know that bathing suits get a little loose once you go in the water, so maybe the snugness isn’t such a bad thing. But then again, I don’t want to cut off my circulation or look like I’m oozing out it either. I might have to initiate Plan B.

If you buy a suit from this brand, I’ll let you know that the top was my usual size and so was the bottom. That means, get your typical size up top and get a size up on the bottom… or reduce the size of your butt before you wear it.

Leave a Reply

