finding an identity

When I decided to start a new blog, I found it rather difficult to find the name that I wanted. I started by using Blogger and typing names to check on availability and all of the names my little brain conjured up were taken. It didn’t bother me so much that the names were taken but the blogs hadn’t been updated since 2004 or earlier!

Then I moved on to Word Press to see what the offerings were. Without using some kind of extraneous hyphen or number, here, too, I found limited availability. Blogs had not been updated for years either.

So here we are now with “standing by.” It was not my first choice, but I have come to like it. It fits the idea of standing around observing the world and then writing about it. And it fits my “world tour of life” as I like to call it. You probably refer to is as your career. Regardless, the name works.

Oh, to you bloggers our who haven’t updated your blog in 4 years, freaking delete it already! Some of us want the dang domain. Thank you.

Posted in etc.. Tags: . 1 Comment »

One Response to “finding an identity”

  1. Sini Says:

    I caught myself using the TV hand signal for “10” the other day at work. Luckily the guy who saw it had also worked in TV so he totally got it. It was a cool little moment. Working in recorded audio we don’t get to use hand signals much.


Leave a Reply

